Education Bulletin

Date Time Location Event
Monday, June 27 2:00 pm Heitler Hall Thesis Defense - University of Colorado Denver and National Jewish Health Immunology Graduate Program
Programming Protective CD4-Independent CD8 T Cell Memory - Lindsay Edwards
Tuesday, June 28 1:00 pm Goodman, 5th floor conf room Immunology Graduate Program Journal Club
Presenters:  Kristina Stoermer, Nathan Pennock, Courtney Fleenor & Francesca Alvarez-Calderon.  Special Edition:  Reviewing Bruce Beutler's Recent Work.
Wednesday, June 29 10:00 am Heitler Hall Immunology Graduate Program Student Invited Speaker
Finding the Essentials:  Dissecting Immunity by a Random Process - Bruce Beutler, MD
12:00 noon Heitler Hall Integrated Department of Immunology Seminar
Epigenetic Regulation of Immune Cell Identity - Brian O'Connor, PhD
Thursday, June 30 7:30 am Heitler Hall Pulmonary Grand Rounds
CANCELLED
8:30 am Heitler Hall Topics in Pulmonary Medicine
COPD:  A Current Update - Bill Vandivier, MD
Friday, July 1 11:00 am Heitler Hall Thesis Defense - University of Colorado Denver and National Jewish Health Immunology Graduate Program
The Role of T Cell Cross-Reactivity and IFN? in CD8+ T Cell Responses to a Tumor-Associated Antigen - Charles Kemmler
Thursday, July 28 12:15 pm Molly Blank, J101 Pulmonary New Faculty Orientation
Oncology - Jeff Kern, MD
Interventional Pulmonary - Ali Musani, MD
Tuesday, August 9 12:00 noon Heitler Hall CTSA-CCTSI Presentation
Ron Sokol, MD
Wednesday, August 10 12:00 noon Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Medical Grand Rounds
Care of the Hospitalized Elderly - Ethan Cumbier, MD
To view in real time <mms://esslive.ucdenver.edu:1800>
Wednesday, August 17 12:00 noon Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Medical Grand Rounds
Building the Evidence Base to Inform Palliative Care Practice - Jean S. Kutner, MD, MSPH
To view in real time <mms://esslive.ucdenver.edu:1800>
12:15 pm Molly Blank, J107 Pulmonary New Faculty Orientation
COPD - Russ Bowler, MD, PhD
Wednesday, August 24 12:00 noon Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Medical Grand Rounds
Amyloidosis - Morie A. Gertz, MD, Professor and Chair, Dept of Internal Medicine, Mayo Clinic
To view in real time <mms://esslive.ucdenver.edu:1800>
Wednesday, September 7 12:00 noon Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Medical Grand Rounds
Globalization of Antiretroviral Therapy - Tom Campbell, MD
To view in real time <mms://esslive.ucdenver.edu:1800>
Thursday, September 15 12:15 pm Molly Blank, J101 Pulmonary New Faculty Orientation
Pulmonary Physiology and Exercise - Kern Buckner and Amy Olson
Monday, September 19 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Non-Tuberculous Mycobacterial Infections (exact title TBA)- Joe Falkinham, PhD, Professor of Biological Sciences, Virginia Tech
Tuesday, September 20 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA
Monday, October 3 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Cardiovascular Diseases in Women (exact title TBA) - Andrew Freeman, MD
Monday, October 10 12:00 noon Heitler Hall Lung Cell Biology Forum
TBD
Monday, October 17 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
COPDGene:  Defining Subtypes and Specific Therapies - James Crapo, MD
Tuesday, October 18 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Margaret M. McCarthy, PhD, Professor of Physiology & Psychiatry, Associate Dean for Graduate Students, University of Maryland School of Medicine
Monday, October 24 12:00 noon Heitler Hall Lung Cell Biology Forum
TBD
Monday, November 7 12:00 noon Heitler Hall The Enrique Fernandez Lecture
Acute Lung Injury (exact title TBA) - Margaret Herridge, MD, MPH, Associate Professor and Director of ICU Research, University of Toronto
Monday, November 14 12:00 noon Heitler Hall Lung Cell Biology Forum
TBD
Tuesday, November 15 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Jeffrey I. Gordon, MD, Dr. Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Professor; Director, Center for Genomic Sciences; Division of Laboratory and Genomic Medicine, Washington University, St. Louis
Monday, November 21 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Acceptance and Commitment Therapy - Adria Pearson, PhD
Monday, November 28 12:00 noon Heitler Hall Lung Cell Biology Forum
TBD
Monday, December 5 12:00 noon Heitler Hall Department of Medicine Morbidity and Mortality Conference

Tuesday, December 13 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Tak Wah Mak, PhD, Professor and Director, The Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research, Department of Medical Biophysics, University of Toronto, Ontario Cancer Institute, Princess Margaret Hospital
Monday, December 19 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Genetic Counseling Program at NJH (exact title TBA) - Janet Talbert, MS, CGC
Monday, January 9, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Tuesday, January 17 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Paul Bloom, PhD, Professor, Department of Psychology, Yale University
Monday, January 23, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, February 6, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, February 20, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Tuesday, February 21 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Ross L. Cagan, PhD, Professor, Departments of Developmental & Regenerative Biology, Ophthalmology and Oncological Sciences, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine
Monday, March 5, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, March 19, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Tuesday, March 20 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Gerald I. Shulman, MD, PhD, Professor of Cellular & Molecular Physiology; Associate Director, Yale Diabetes Endocrine Research Center; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale University School of Medicine
Monday, April 2, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, April 16, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Wednesday, April 18 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Cato T. Laurencin, MD, PhD, Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chemical, Biomolecular and Materials Engineering; Van Dusen Endowed Chair in Academic Medicine; Vice President for Health Affairs and Dean, University of Connecticut School of Medicine; New England Musculoskeletal Institute
Monday, May 7, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Tuesday, May 15 4:00 pm Anschutz, RC1, Hensel Phelps UCD Dean's Distinguished Seminar
TBA - Gerald R. Crabtree, MD, Professor of Pathology & Developmental Biology, Stanford University School of Medicine
Monday, June 4, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, June 18, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, September 17, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, October 1, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, October 15, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, November 5, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, November 19, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, December 3, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
Monday, December 17, 2012 12:00 noon Heitler Hall National Jewish Health Medicine Grand Rounds
Title and Speaker TBA
       



PLEASE SUBMIT YOUR TOPICS AND/OR CHANGES TO:
Academic Affairs - Contact Peggy Hammond
303-398-1436
Fax: 303-270-2243
[email protected]